PDA

View Full Version : Torq not sending anything to OSCulator?



Yorb
09-23-2010, 03:34 AM
First off, this software is amazing. :)


Secondly, I'm building a fairly robust iPad template with TouchOSC for controlling Torq, just for things like effects, cue points, and loops. However, I would like some of the controls to be able to respond toggling on/off based on other controls... I thought Torq could send MIDI CCs back to OSCulator and then on to TouchOSC, but it looks like that's not working. :(


An example: I want a master "LOOP" indicator, be it a "toggle" or an "LED" or something else, that will turn ON when the Torq LOOP indicator turns on, which could be triggered by many other things (the 1, 2, 4, or 8 bar loop buttons, the IN/OUT loop set buttons, etc... Basically, I just want TouchOSC to be able to reflect the state of Torq controls.


Torq's MIDI Out light flickers whenever I have OSCulator hooked up and hit a key in Torq, or trigger something through TouchOSC that affects a Torq control, but OSCulator never seems to receive the information. Why not? :( Torq's problem? Or something I'm not doing right in OSCulator?


Thanks! :)

camille
09-23-2010, 09:18 AM
Hey Yorb,


Have you turned on "OSCulator In (8000)" in MIDI Prefs / MIDI devices ?


If you can't see the OSCulator MIDI input in Torq's Prefs, could you try with the IAC driver?

(what is and how to activate the IAC driver (http://www.osculator.net/doc/faq:midi))


Cheers,

Cam

Yorb
09-24-2010, 12:09 AM
Hi Cam,


Thanks, but the only option I have under MIDI DEVICES in Torq is OSCulator Out. I guess that explains why it's not sending anything back! I tried turning on the IAC driver like you suggested, and routing through there, but OSCulator still isn't receiving anything from Torq. I can even send from TouchOSC -> OSCulator -> IAC -> Torq, with the OSCulator Out MIDI completely disabled in Torq (with a little extra latency), but still I receive nothing.


It looks more and more like this is something we need M-Audio's help with. :( Thanks anyway for the suggestion though, and I'll be happy to test more if you have any more ideas.


FYI, I have a Mac Pro running 10.6.4, with the current OSCulator and current Torq (1.5.3).