Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LS9 Scene Recall Help

Hey Chaps,

I've got to admit I'm very new to all of the Midi side of things, but saw some very cool things being demo'ed by a friend of mine.

The first question I have is, is it possible to recall scenes on a LS9 with OSCulator ? I've tried reading the LS9 manual but given I don't really understand MIDI its all a little confusing.

I've gotten faders to work based on touchOSC and osculator by using MIDI CC commands, but I'm lost when it comes to extra features like scene recall on the ls9.

From a quick read I have had, it looks like I may need to use NRPN - is this not supported in osculator ?

Appreciate any help you guys can give

James
    Last edited by 3guk; 03-09-2011, 06:09 AM.

Hi James,

I have downloaded the LS9 Manual, and at page 180 it seems the console scenes can be recalled by using Program Changes. If I understand correctly, you need to activate them in the console's MIDI settings.

As you noted OSCulator does not support NRPN messages at the moment, but you shouldn't need them.

Best Regards,
    Camille

Comment

Ahhh, ok, and how do I transmit program changes from osculator ?

Excuse the stupid questions, not quite got my head around the terminology.

James

Comment

Locate the message from which you want to perform an action.
        It can be a button. For example with TouchOSC the address of the button could be /1/button1.
        Then, select the Event Type MIDI Program Change, and choose your program change.
        When you release the button, a corresponding program change will be sent.

Comment

Thanks for sticking with me, I understand it and am now a whole lot less confused and have the setup working quite well.

I have one more question, as it stands I want to do a scene recall on say a bank of 5 faders, which I can do.

Is there any way to then read these changes from the desk so that on page 2 of my TouchOSC interface I can see the status of those 5 faders ?