Cannot get CC values for Wiimote in Ableton Live

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cannot get CC values for Wiimote in Ableton Live

I purchased Osculator yesterday along with a Wiimote. Since i have OSX.4, i downloaded the "Legacy" version. I read a tutorial online showing how to use the motion-based parameters of the Wiimote to send CC info to Ableton Live to control knobs, sweeps & things like that. However, my version of OSCulator does not have a cc value for the CC Event type, just 0-127 rather than cc1, cc2, etc.

I tried just to use one of those values with midi-mapping a return knob, but the knob just wobbled around in about the 40% range. It would go up if i raised the Wiimote, but never all the way down to 0. How can i get this kind of control with this version of OSCulator?

By the way, as a Latin teacher, i really appreciate the name of this software : ) You have obviously read your Catullus!

Hello,

The version you have downloaded must be a bit more recent than the tutorial you followed.
    In fact cc1, cc2, etc was the old name for MIDI CC event values (originally taken from the notation of MIDI CC message on Symbolic Sound's Kyma Workstation).

The way your return is controlled is depending of what message value from the Wiimote you are using. I can't give you an exact answer because I don't know if you have used the pitch, roll or yaw value. To have an idea of how a parameter behaves, I would suggest you use the Quick Look tool (select the message value, and press the space bar, or click the Quick Look icon in the toolbar). Please let me know how you have set up the mapping, and I should be able to be more precise.