Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

TouchOSC multiple functions? (LiveControl and Silent Way 2)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TouchOSC multiple functions? (LiveControl and Silent Way 2)

Hi all,
    I'm quite new to this, so excuse me for any noobness.

I'm using TouchOSC and LiveControl template to launch and mix my sets on Ableton Live. Perfect so far.

What I'm trying to figure out now is how the best and easiest way to use a second function with the IPad, in this case, to control with multifaders Silent Way's Step LFO 2 channels (CV and gates). It would be suited for live use, so must be a nobrainer, with no reconfigs or layout changes if possible.

Here's a quote from OS at Expert Sleepers:
    I believe TouchOSC is still only able to send to one port, and SW can't listen on the same port as Live. However i guess I could find some way of echoing an incoming port to two destinations - maybe OSCulator?

hope you experienced guys could help me on this one.

best

rc

Hi Rodrigo,

First solution:

OSCulator can echo messages but not as a whole, you have to configure every individual message so they are properly routed to LiveControl.

So in the Parameters window, OSC tab, you create a OSC target with LiveControl's port (127.0.0.1:5000, that is 127.0.0.1 for your local computer, and 5000 for LiveControl's default port). Then create a OSC Routing (click the + button) and set its target number to the one you just configured. Basically it would look like this:
    LiveControl routing.png

Then you assign this routing to every message that is registered in OSCulator so it is sent to LiveControl. You will need to configure TouchOSC so it sends messages to OSCulator, and LiveControl so it sends message to TouchOSC. Don't try to handle both directions in OSCulator, it is not needed.

Another solution:

You will find here a small command line utility that listens for OSC messages, and dispatch them to as many targets as you want.