Receiving Program Change Messages

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Receiving Program Change Messages

Hi, I'm a bit new to all of this, so I apologize in advance if there's something obvious that I'm missing.

I've been searching for some software that will translate incoming MIDI program change messages into MIDI cc or note on/off messages. I tried a few freeware programs and downloaded a trial of Bomes and couldn't get into any of them. Anyway, I read on another forum somewhere that although Osculator is mostly designed for OSC translation, it could do what I was looking for.

I hope that's the case, because after downloading the trial, I'm thinking this might be the perfect program for me... I've been wanting to learn more about using OSC to control Ableton, and Osculator looks beautiful and seems very simple to use.

However, I've come across an early roadblock in getting it to translate messages. The controller I'm using is a Tech 21 Midi Mouse. I believe I have the routing set up correctly. When I press one of the footswitches, I get "midi/program/1" under the Message column. However, I get this no matter how many times I press the footswitch--I'm just getting the message type/channel info. Instead, it seems it should be cycling through the 127 different program change messages available on Channel 1.

So how do I get it to recognize the "argument"--the specific PC value--in addition to the MIDI message type/channel? If this is possible, and I can route this pedal to progressively cycle through Note or CC messages instead of PC messages, I'll gladly pay even more than you're asking for--I'm really psyched about Osculator and would love to support you guys if we can get this to work!

Thanks for your help.

Jared

Hi Jared,

Thanks for your interest in OSCulator!