Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multipush confusion

Hi there
    I am a noob but have really enjoyed getting going with OSC.
    I am trying to understand how to configure a simple Multipush to let me cycle, manually, through the factory and User preset banks of a MIDI capable effects pedal.
    I can't find any info anywhere. All tutorials seem to focus on basic Faders and Rotaries etc etc

Any clues would be much appreciated!

-___-

Hi Wiremu,

Welcome to this forum!

I will assume you MIDI pedal responds to standard MIDI messages like Program Change, etc.

The first thing to know is that changing the banks using is not something easy to do with OSCulator, at least not at the moment. (FYI, the Bank Select message is two Control Change messages followed by a Program Change, see http://somascape.org/midi/tech/spec.html#banksel).

Now, your MIDI pedal is an external device, so you must tell OSCulator that you want to send MIDI message through a physical MIDI port, not just the one by default. To do this, open the Parameters window, go to MIDI I/O and activate the MIDI Output port to which your pedal is connected.

You might to go for a simple program change for a start. For this, setup your multipush as desired and tap evey buttons so their messages appear in OSCulator's messages list (the main window). Then assign a different MIDI Program Change to each OSC message received. The identifier number of a Program Change decides what preset will be chosen on your pedal box.

You should now be able to press a button on the Multipush, and change a preset on your pedal.

Best,
    Cam

Comment

Multipush confusion

Hi Camille
      Thanks!
      and thank you for such a prompt reply.