Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• two osculator midi inputs? possible?

hi all,

I'm new to OSCulator but very excited. right now I've got two iPads with TouchOSC talking to OSCulator, talking to Garage Band, just fine *except* that they come in as the same instrument. I can't figure out how to make each iPad a different instrument.

Is there any way to do this?

Thanks!

Joseph

Hello and welcome Joseph!

Usually with OSCulator, when you want to use two devices like a pair of iPads, you should open two OSCulator documents (windows), and configure each iPad to send OSC to its respective window.

Then to play another instrument in GarageBand, I would suggest you choose another MIDI channel. So you start with channel 1 for instrument 1, then channe 2 for the next instrument. This is how you play different instruments using MIDI.

I hope this answers your question.

Best,
    Cam

Comment

merci, camille!

GarageBand listens to all channels at a time, and does not differentiate between them. there is no way in GB to assign a different channel of the same MIDI interface to a different instrument. that's why i was hoping there is a way to get the second OSCulator instance to create a second MIDI interface.

C'est possible ?

Comment

Une suggestion:

OSCulator merges all MIDI input and output on the selected MIDI ports.
        You can select input and output MIDI ports in the Parameters window, in the I/O tab.

So, if I understand your question, the idea is to create an IAC bus in Audio/MIDI Setup and setup one of your OSCulator windows to use that IAC bus. Then in GarageBand use the IAC Bus for a specific instrument. But even with another MIDI interface, I am not sure if you will be able to control different instruments...

À bientôt,
        Cam

Comment

merci encore.