Problems with Midi CC and Output Min/Max

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems with Midi CC and Output Min/Max

My apologies in advance for this post, but I'm new to Osculator and after several hours of tinkering I can't seem to find an answer to my problem.

Background: I have designed a custom layout in TouchOSC to control a midi-capable pipe organ console. The idea is to take my iPad with me into the organ chamber (where the pipes are) when tuning the organ, allowing me to tune by myself instead of having to have someone else at the organ console holding the keyboard keys and turning on/off the different organ stops (sounds).

The first page in TouchOSC is simply a keyboard with 61 notes. This works as intended, as the midi output from TouchOSC does what I need it to.

On the second page in TouchOSC are several toggle push-buttons which are to control the various stops (sounds) of the organ, turning them on and off. The midi output from TouchOSC is somewhat limited and I am now using Osculator to translate the message to a format that the organ will understand.

For the organ console, stops (sounds) are turned on with "MidiCC 81" and turned off with "MidiCC 80", with the Velocity of each controller used to define which specific stop you are wanting to control. For example:

Stop 1 ON: MidiCC 81, Velocity 1
    Stop 1 OFF: MidiCC 80, Velocity 1

Stop 2 ON: MidiCC 81, Velocity 2
    Stop 2 OFF: MidiCC 80, Velocity 2
    Stop 10 ON: MidiCC 81, Velocity 10
    Stop 10 Off: MidiCC 80, Velocity 10

....and so on.

This is where the problem is... I can't get Osculator to accurately output the "Velocity" portion of the midi output message. All of the toggle buttons from touchOSC show up on Osculator just fine, and I have used the "demux" so I can output different messages for the on/off of the toggle button.

I guess i'm not quite sure what I'm doing wrong, but I just can't seem to get this to work right.