PDA

View Full Version : wii sensor required for wii remote?



polymorphic
01-12-2009, 10:40 PM
Confused by this FAQ:


http://www.osculator.net/wiki/Main/FAQ#ir


Do I need a sensor to use a wii remote with OSCalculator? I'd assumed I could use a pair of remotes over bluetooth. I plan to have the remotes controlling fx on different channels in Live...


Thanks

AdamOhm
01-12-2009, 10:51 PM
You'll only need the sensor bar if you wish to use the IR camera for x/y pointer tracking (like the Wii pointer behaves). You will be able to use the accelerometers and buttons on the Wiimote (up to four) via bluetooth (Thanks to Camille... :p)

Integrating the sensor bar (or a pair of IR light sources-led's, candles...) into your setup would allow you to derive coordinates from the IR camera in the wiimote.

A

polymorphic
01-13-2009, 12:20 AM
Ah ok, thanks - goddit.


I don't own a wii (no sh*t!) so was unaware of the difference :)

AdamOhm
01-16-2009, 04:45 PM
Hey PolyMorph-- one last thing-even without the sensor bar you can still use IR sources as input... flick a bic, get a note...

:^)

camille
01-17-2009, 06:30 PM
yeah, two candles work too …