PDA

View Full Version : Complete Beginner - Using Ableton 7+MIDI mapping



The Northern Contingent
08-21-2009, 02:10 PM
Hello everyone,


I've downloaded TouchOSC and OSCulator to use together on my Mac with Ableton Live 7. So far, I have followed the quick start and got the yellow slider to move the volume slider of track 1 up and down - great! My problem is that I am a complete beginner to MIDI mapping, and don't quite understand the way this would work in a practical situation. I've got several questions, will keep them down to basics:


1. Would I need to create a template on Ableton with all its parameter pre-mapped out? If so, what would happen when I add a new track? Do I have to then map everything out again on this and save as an updated template?

2. How about my existing tracks? Do I have to map these out individually or can I somehow import a premade MIDI map into them?


Thanks - apologies if these are basic questions I should already know the answers to!

The Northern Contingent
08-23-2009, 09:59 AM
Anyone?

kodamapixel
08-23-2009, 12:26 PM
I'd suggest saving an OSCulator template for connecting to TouchOSC, but I've always found myself setting Ableton up differently for nearly every project, so have never saved a template in Live.


It's very simple to assign MIDI in Live as well, so if you've got TouchOSC and OSCulator passing on MIDI, it's just a quick click of Command+M in Live and you're there.

The Northern Contingent
08-23-2009, 12:54 PM
Great - thanks. I am finally starting to get off the ground! I have been helped with the brilliant template here (http://www.osculator.net/bp/topic/155), which triggers clips to play etc in Ableton. I have also modified what is already there within Live itself as you have suggested with worked a charm. My next question (!) is how do I add extra pages of controls to the Touch OSC template via the editor? Whenever I load the template into TouchOSC Editor, I can only see one page of controls. When I click 'New', it opens a new project completely. Help!


EDIT - I've just worked out you just right click to add new pages/elements/buttons etc. DUH! Think I'm getting the hang of it a little more!