super collider + osculator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• super collider + osculator

I'm trying to connect super collider with osculator anybody have some idea how to do that?

any help would be appreciated.

thanks

Hi,

I'm no expert in SuperCollider, but I know some people that managed to use it.

What would you like to do specifically? Maybe I can give you some starting points.

From what I know, people that use SuperCollider write custom routings (in the Parameters window, OSC tab) to transform the signal output from OSCulator to control directly a synth in SuperCollider. Another approach would be to set-up a OSC receiver, and process the data inside SuperCollider, which would be better in my opinion, but I really can't tell how to do that.

Best,

Cam

Comment

hello,

thanks for the reply

actually I would like to control some parameters on super collider with my wii controller, so far I have managed to detect the wiimote with osculator but I have no idea how to sent these numbers to Super Collider

if I had some idea how to control a really simple patch everything would be much easier

Comment

Sure, could you please describe a bit the parameters you would like to control?

Or maybe provide an example SuperCollider file to try?

Comment

The simplest patch in super collider would be something like that:

{SinOsc.ar(440,0,1)}.play

Just an oscillator with a frequency of 440

but you probably want to try and sontrol it from the server

so that would be

(

SynthDef("OneSine",{ |freq = 440,bus = 0|

Out.ar(bus,SinOsc.ar(freq,0,0.1));

}).send(s); // save the file and send it to the server s

)

z = Synth("OneSine"); //play the node

z.set("freq",600); //change the freq

z.free; //free the node

if you could show me how to control the frequency with the wiimote through osculator it would be great example for everyone...

I think this is the first thread about super collider in this forum so its really useful I guess...

thanks

Comment