Setting up TochOSC with Reason 4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up TochOSC with Reason 4

Hey guys, I've read through a few threads concerning this, but still can't figure out how to do it. I am brand new to both TouchOSC and OSCulator. I suppose I don't even know where to start. Does anyone have a straight forward method for setting up TouchOSC/OSCulator with Reason 4? Thanks in advance.

Hi Tony,

Setting up OSCulator with Reason 4 is much like using a MIDI controller with Reason.

Once you see messages from TouchOSC in OSCulator, you need to assign them with MIDI Control Changes or MIDI Notes.

Then, there is a setting in Reason which let's you tell what MIDI input to use as a controller.

I'll try to give you more precise info a bit later.

Best,

Cam

Comment

I am getting OSCulator to recognize TouchOSC and I've added a generic control surface in Reason with the MIDI input set to OSCulator Out, but when I change midi notes in OSCulator to control a parameter in Reason nothing is happening.

Comment

If you're only sending MIDI CC messages from sliders or buttons in TouchOSC, you can use the "<Other> MIDI Control Surface" remote codec in the Reason preferences. If you have OSCulator sending MIDI notes to Reason, you will have to set up the preferences with the "<Other> MIDI control Keyboard" Remote Codec. The difference between the two is that the "MIDI control surface" codec does not expect to receive MIDI note events.

Comment